The Welsh Quilt Centre, Lampeter – Kaffe Fassett from Nov 2013

 

The Welsh Quilt Centre – Lampeter

Lampeter’s Town Hall has been loving,  sympathetically and aesthetically restored to its former glory by Jen Jones and her family and is now the fitting home of The Welsh Quilt Centre.
Jen Jones officially opened the centre in 2009 having collected and sold Welsh Quilts for many years from her Quilt Shop in Llanybydder just outside Lampeter.   Jen not only uses The Quilt Centre to share her own stunning collection of Welsh Quilts but also to promote a greater understanding of the importance of the welsh quilt not only in terms of social history but also as an art form to be recognised in its own right.

 The 2013 exhibition, ” Kaffe Fassett Comes to Wales” Kaffe_Fassett_exhibition_(8) runs until 2nd November.
Kaffe’s vivid bold patchworks are shown alongside beautifully stitched antique Welsh Quilts from The Jen Jones Collection.
This presents a stunning contrast of modern and traditional quilts in an historic setting in the heart of Wales.

In addition to the gallery, showcasing the latest exhibition,  the centre also houses two smaller galleries displaying local artists work, runs quilt related courses and is home to The Gallery Shop.
The Home of The Jen Jones Welsh Quilt CentreThe Quilt Centre is open Tuesday to Saturday 11am to 4.30pm until 2nd November 2013.  When the exhibition closes, the Gallery Shop is still open limited hours and the Quilt Shop in Llanybydder remains open.  Check website  or telephone   +44 (0) 1570 480 610  if travelling a distance during winter months.
The 2014 Exhibition will be “Early To Bed” – a showcase of Early Welsh Quilts.
All photographs by kind permission Jen Jones 2013.